Course Record Broken – Pretty Corner 10m TT results – 18th June

Following a couple of weeks of no time trials due to the weather it was touch and go whether anyone would be racing this week again due to the predicted heavy rain (depending on which forecast you read!).  With people itching to ride Chris Knowles gave the nod at 5pm and it was on.  Unfortunately the rain started when the first rider started but everyone had warmed up by then and it wasn’t too heavy (note TTs are only usually cancelled if heavy rain causing spray/affecting visibility, or roadworks…).

Professional triathlete Joe Skipper who had previously posted at 20.30 in colder conditions on this course last season had a storming ride to break the 24 year old course record by 5 seconds with a 20.02.  Despite the rain, he suggested conditions were pretty good despite having to remove his visor on the way back.  He has been working on a new aero position and this, along with his high average power (>380 watts) made this time possible. In dry conditions sub 20 minutes is more than likely.

Second was Arron Green (Kings Lynn CC) who been away for a while, with a 21.58, with Mike Padfield (NN Wheelers) posting a 22.20 (and fastest on club handicap time). The ever improving junior triathlete Callum Stedman posted a seasons best time of 23.05.  John Morgan (NN Wheelers) posted his best time in 2 years with 23.54.

Thanks to the timekeepers and marshalls.

Our open 10m TT event is this Saturday with 32 riders from the region having a go at our ‘sporting course’. The first rider is off at 9am. The HQ is at Upper Sheringham Village Hall, so feel free to drop in for a coffee and cake.


Pretty Corner 10m TT   18-06-19    
Name Club Time Handicap time Notes
JOE SKIPPER Guest rider 20.02   Course Record
ARRON GREEN Guest rider 21.58 21 16  
MIKE PADFIELD NN Wheelers 22.20 20 42  
CALLUM STEDMAN Guest rider 23.05    
JOHN MORGAN NN Wheelers 23.54 21 37  
KEVIN HUMPHREYS Guest rider 24.23    
PHILIP WEST NN Wheelers 25.58 21 06  
MARK WATSON NN Wheelers 26.32 21 05  
GUY THOROLD NN Wheelers 26.32 22 18  
BRIAN PLATTS NN Wheelers 26.55 21 20  
TIM DAYKIN NN Wheelers 28.18 21 21  

skipper 2019 Course Record