10m TT (and Zak Carr Trophy Race)

Although a few riders were away (walking up hills, recovering or tapering!) there was still a good turnout for Tuesday’s TT.  Unknown to most people it was the Zak Carr Trophy race which is in memory of a former club rider who tragically got killed on his bike in 2005 by a driver who fell asleep at the wheel.

Most riders were 20 or 30 seconds quicker this week due to favourable weather conditions.  Graham got a PB, Phil Watkins a course seasons PB and Paul Harrowing rounded out the podium.  Graham Denny just pipped Jon Maynard to the Zak Carr trophy to win it based on the fastest on handicap*.

It was good to have a visitor from one of the County’s premier TT teams Team Velovelocity, along with our club riders and visiting Tri clubs. Thanks to the riders, marshalls and timekeepers.

10-07-18 10m TT Pretty Corner Zak Carr Trophy Race
Name Club Time Handicap time Notes
GRAHAM DENNY NN Wheelers 22.11  20.51 PB
PHIL WATKINS NN Wheelers 23.02  21.21
PAUL HARROWING NN Wheelers 23.47  21.18
GEOFF FROST Team Velovelocity 23.54
NIGEL WALSH NN Wheelers 24.14  21.10
LUKE PETTIT CS Velo Sport 24.20  21.18
CARL MACE Tri Harder 24.58
JON MAYNARD NN Wheelers 25.33  20.55
BRIAN PLATTS NN Wheelers 26.55  22.19
GUY THOROLD NN Wheelers 27.02  21.43
FRANCIS GLAZEBROOK Un attached 27.04
JOHN MORGAN NN Wheelers 27.29  25.18
TIM DAYKIN Wensum Valley 29.41
J.VIDLER Plomesgate CC 30.19
KEITH BESWICK TriHarman 30.22
TESSA MORGAN NN Wheelers 31.01  23.33

*handicaps are based on a ‘dark art’ system devised by Chris Knowles using previous rides, the position of the moon and tea-leaf readings!